Old school book… Hatchet

Posted on May 14, 2011

0


Hatchet is the story of a boy named Brian. On a trip to the Canadian oilfields to spend the summer with his dad, the pilot of the Cessna he is traveling in suffers a heart attack and dies. Brian must land the plane in the forest. Brian learns to exist in in this wilderness. He faces many dangers including hunger, animal attacks, and even a tornado. This book gives the reader a better understanding of what it is like to survive in an untamed land.

Click here to see review—–>      Hatchet 

This book is fiction and affected my life back in middle school. When I read this book it opened my eyes to the world around me and made me feel like there was so much out there than what was represented to me at that age.

The survival adventures of 13-years-old Brian Robeson in Hatchet have sparked the imagination of millions of young readers including myself. Following a plane crash, Brian was stranded alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a small hatchet and painful memories of his parents’ recent breakup. Facing hunger, wild animals and harsh weather, Brian acquires inspiring survival techniques and on the same time develops as a human being.

This story taught me at a young age that life is very precious and should not be taken advantage of. I think reading Hatchet at the age I did was appropriate because it is a stepping stone that can assist young boys and girls to recognize the importance of freedom.

Posted in: Uncategorized